So a little about me- We started not trying but not preventing in 2007. After getting married in August 2008 we really started trying. After several more months I just had a feeling something wasn't right with us so I wasted no time in making a Dr. appointment. After several months of the doctors assuming that my weight was the issue, we finally got them to agree to test DH... Results back...ZERO sperm count.. WHAT???? This is how the conversation between Dr and DH went
Ring ring
Dr- "Hi, this is Dr. ****, is this Brett?"
DH- "Yes, this is Brett."
Dr- "I just got the results of your semen analysis, and got some great news. Your vasectomy worked and no sperm were seen."
DH- "I didn't get a vasectomy. I came in for a SA for fertility workup."
Dr- "So sorry about that. We are gonna need to send you to a specialist to get it checked out."
REALLY????? You couldn't look in his dang chart before opening your amazingly stupid mouth.
So anywho- We went to see a Reproductive Specialist that talked to us about IVF/ICSI blah blah blah. We tested DH hormones and all were great. Got check for varicocle, none found. RE decided to recheck DH sperm count just to make sure of a diagnosis of azoospermia. Results came back- 1 sperm per slide...Great news that he produces it, but no answers as to why it is happening. Unfortuntely there is no way in hell we can afford IVF at this time.
Fast forward 2 years 9 months, 45 pounds lighter, 4 IUI's and 1 ectopic pregnancy later......
So yesterday with met with Dr. H (my reproductive specialist. I don't want to publish his name. So he will be considered Dr. H on all my blog posts.).. Anywho.. We met with Dr. H about starting IVF. It was soooo nerve wracking. We have been talking about doing IVF for 3 years but never thought we would accually be doing it. He said I could start the process as soon as AF (aunt flow) shows.. I have NEVER wanted her to come so badly. I had laproscopic surgery 3 weeks ago so I have NO idea when she will get here... BOO. Dr. H said my expected egg retrievel date will be around Feb. 13th... Yay. Only 6 weeks away. I was totally SHOCKED when he said I could start so soon after surgery. He requested all my medical records from my surgery to make sure the surgeon said my tubes looked ok. If all that is good, I will go for my saline sonogram after AF shows and we will be set to go.. DH and I had to get all the blood work done yesterday. They took 5 vials from me and 2 from DH. We also had to pee in a cup. Which DH wasn't to crazy about. But I told him it was much easier than giving them a "sperm sample" (which by the way, he finds extremely embarressing/uncomfortable to do)... Crazy they need to do that much testing. After our appointment we also met with finanical people to go over how much we have to pay.. $$$$$$$$$.. Sticker shock. We will find a way to come up with the money.
No comments:
Post a Comment