Thursday, January 19, 2012

Update- The Wait

I haven't update in awhile because there is NOTHING to update about. Im in a huge waiting game that I feel is never going to end. AF still hasn't made her appearence and until she does, it's just a huge wait and see. My boobs are starting to feel a little tender which usually happens about a week before AF, so im hoping she is on her way.

So in the mean time I am just trying to get my body prepared for all this. I gained a few pounds from the last round of meds, pregnancy, and the ability to not work out after surgery. So I have just been hitting the gym and trying to get my nutrition back on track. I am just having the HARDEST time giving up coffee. I just love it to much. I'm not a one or two cup a day kind of person.... I'm the kind that likes to have a few cups at every meal... Lol. I gotta get that under control.




Sunday, January 8, 2012

IVF class

So yesterday I went to the mandated IVF class. I was amazed that their were so many couples going through IVF at the same time as me. I know my clinic is pretty big, but 14 couples total!!! I was just shocked. There is also another IVF class on the 21st so there will be even more couples. I felt kind of dumb because I was the only one there without my husband. My husband has to work Saturdays, and if we want to afford IVF, he can't keep missing work.

So the only interesting thing that I took from that class was that embryo's are sensitive to smell. Scented lotions, bodywash, and perfume can accually harm them. Interesting. So basically the Nurse Practioner said that if we show up to ER or ET (expecially transfer) with anything on other than deoderant, they will force us to shower and change into some of their extra scrubs before bringing out the embryo's.

The closer this cycle gets, the more excited I am becomming. I thought I would be so scared and nervous, but it is accually a relief that we are here. We never thought that we would end up doing IVF. It seemed way to invasive for me, but I am at the point I will do anything to get a baby.

Brett and I talked for a few hours last night about our future baby(ies). We both feel like we are gonna end up with twins. How exciting would that be??? It would be hard financially, physically, and mentally; but so worth it. We talked about names, nursery furniture, and how the crap I am going to manage to take care of multiple children. It was so fun to talk about. It is so cute to see him so hopeful and excited.

Update on me: Still waiting for AF to get here. We cannot get a schedule, what protocol we for sure will be on, what meds I will be on, or anything until AF gets here........SO AGGRIVATING..

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

And so it begins!!!

This is my first time ever blogging, so don't be to critical of my blog quite yet. I would love to share my journey with other's.

So a little about me- We started not trying but not preventing in 2007. After getting married in August 2008 we really started trying. After several more months I just had a feeling something wasn't right with us so I wasted no time in making a Dr. appointment. After several months of the doctors assuming that my weight was the issue, we finally got them to agree to test DH... Results back...ZERO sperm count.. WHAT???? This is how the conversation between Dr and DH went

Ring ring
Dr- "Hi, this is Dr. ****, is this Brett?"
DH- "Yes, this is Brett."
Dr- "I just got the results of your semen analysis, and got some great news. Your vasectomy worked and no sperm were seen."
DH- "I didn't get a vasectomy. I came in for a SA for fertility workup."


Dr- "So sorry about that. We are gonna need to send you to a specialist to get it checked out."

REALLY????? You couldn't look in his dang chart before opening your amazingly stupid mouth.

So anywho- We went to see a Reproductive Specialist that talked to us about IVF/ICSI blah blah blah. We tested DH hormones and all were great. Got check for varicocle, none found. RE decided to recheck DH sperm count just to make sure of a diagnosis of azoospermia. Results came back- 1 sperm per slide...Great news that he produces it, but no answers as to why it is happening.  Unfortuntely there is no way in hell we can afford IVF at this time.

Fast forward 2 years 9 months, 45 pounds lighter, 4 IUI's and 1 ectopic pregnancy later......



So yesterday with met with Dr. H (my reproductive specialist. I don't want to publish his name. So he will be considered Dr. H on all my blog posts.).. Anywho.. We met with Dr. H about starting IVF. It was soooo nerve wracking. We have been talking about doing IVF for 3 years but never thought we would accually be doing it. He said I could start the process as soon as AF (aunt flow) shows.. I have NEVER wanted her to come so badly. I had laproscopic surgery 3 weeks ago so I have NO idea when she will get here... BOO. Dr. H said my expected egg retrievel date will be around Feb. 13th... Yay. Only 6 weeks away. I was totally SHOCKED when he said I could start so soon after surgery. He requested all my medical records from my surgery to make sure the surgeon said my tubes looked ok. If all that is good, I will go for my saline sonogram after AF shows and we will be set to go.. DH and I had to get all the blood work done yesterday. They took 5 vials from me and 2 from DH. We also had to pee in a cup. Which DH wasn't to crazy about. But I told him it was much easier than giving them a "sperm sample" (which by the way, he finds extremely embarressing/uncomfortable to do)... Crazy they need to do that much testing. After our appointment we also met with finanical people to go over how much we have to pay.. $$$$$$$$$.. Sticker shock. We will find a way to come up with the money.